(C) ASCR - Walter Schaub-Walzer

Aspern Smart City Research (ASCR) conducts one of the most innovative and sustainable energy efficiency demonstration projects in Europe. Apart from the size and constellation of the research association – municipal organisations and the industry – the integrative approach stands out particularly. Using real data, the association investigates complex relationships instead of single elements.

The research association ASCR was founded by Siemens AG Austria (44.1%), Wien Energie GmbH (29.95%), Wiener Netze GmbH (20%) and the City of Vienna (Wirtschaftsagentur Wien 4,66%, Wien 3420 Holding GmbH, 1,29%). A co-operation model of this magnitude has so far been unique. More than 100 persons from different scientific disciplines are directly involved in this research project.

In this joint venture, technical solutions for the future of energy are being developed in the real life environment of a newly established urban development area with real end consumers. The project is centred around building automation and the use of energy flexibility of the buildings on the energy market – all with the involvement of “smart users”. Furthermore, optimal methods for the assessment of the grid condition and grid planning are developed. All solutions are based on a comprehensive ICT, for which the appropriate big data models are developed and tested.

ASCR won the international World Smart City Award as “Best Smart Project 2016”. The Viennese research project was thus able to prevail among 250 participants from 49 countries.

Goals of ASCR

The basic goal of the ASCR is to develop solutions for the energy future in urban areas and to make our energy systems more efficient and climate friendly. In order to achieve this, the ASCR has been researching real life data from the urban development area “aspern Seestadt” since 2013. Thus what is being tested today in an urban development area, will tomorrow be possible in the whole city.

By integrating different types of buildings (school campus, student housing, residential buildings), the energy supply system together with information and communication technology and users – the test field offers unique possibilities for energy research. The results provide information about what is technically possible and how modern technologies are adopted by the users.

The input of the smart users, i.e. the 111 households participating in the research project, provides a daily practice check. The findings from the user data are the key to the development of market-oriented, customer-friendly solutions for energy suppliers, such as Wien Energie. The ASCR therefore deals with practical application research, which benefits the city of Vienna and its inhabitants.

Smart Building

Three buildings – a residential building, a dormitory for students and an educational campus (currently kindergarten and elementary school) – form the ASCR’s smart building research objects. Equipped with photovoltaic installations, solar thermal systems, hybrid systems, heat pumps, as well as various thermal and electrical storage systems, the buildings of tomorrow are a real prosumer. They do not only consume energy, but also produce and store it. Complex ICT systems enable the optimal distribution, usage, storage and transmission of energy. A key aspect of the ASCR is to optimize its own consumption in the building. Today’s building optimization systems lack a substantial component: they cannot look into the future yet. This is about to change. Intelligent building control systems are designed to anticipate the prospective energy demand, taking into account the weather forecast and other data. They can also provide information on the condition of certain building units and help to plan maintenance measures.

ASCR Research Fields

(c) APA-ASCR

Smart Grid

Twelve network stations, 24 transformers and numerous sensors are the basic infrastructure of the ASCR smart grid testbed. This alone does not make the power grid intelligent, but the ASCR examines how a transition from the classic network to an intelligent network can be accomplished with such a setup. The aim is to reduce costs for future grids, to increase the number of renewable sources and to create a sustainable, secure platform between the prosumer, the building and the market.

Smart ICT

Smart ICT uses, in accordance with the data privacy policy, all data collected from the buildings and the grid (temperature, airflow, power consumption, voltage, etc.), as well as external data (e.g. weather forecasts or other events), in order to monitor the interactions between the grid and buildings. The key factor is the cross-checking of the data from the different domains. With the data from the real test field, the ASCR research team digitally simulates energy concepts and optimization measures. The aim is to develop scalable and viable solutions for the urban energy budget.

Smart User

The users represent a particularly important component of ASCR’s research activities. Ultimately, it depends on them how much energy the building needs. 111 households (> 50%) explicitly agreed that their energy consumption and room control data (electricity, hot and cold water, room temperature, room air quality, etc.) is used for research purposes. The cooperation with the users is continuously accompanied through workshops and interviews.

Smart Home Control App

Users and researchers equally benefit from the ASCR’s Smart Home Control App: 111 households from the residential development area Seestadt provide ASCR with their energy data. Since 2017, they have been able to control their energy consumption on the smartphone or tablet – using a specially developed Smart Home Control App. The mobile application brings not only a comfort gain for the users, but also gives important insights for energy research.

Electricity and heating can be used more ecologically and economically with just a few clicks – from the couch or the subway. Together with software experts from EMAKINA, the Viennese research association has developed an app that allows users to control their energy consumption, heating, ventilation and sockets at any time. Thus the heating can for example be turned on comfortably during the trip home from winter holidays, or one can quickly switch off all sockets on the way to work – a simple and practical way to save energy.

The data generated by the app play an important role in the research results of the ASCR. Through the app they gain real data, that give new insights into user behaviour. After evaluating the data, it is now possible for the first time to precisely understand whether and how the users use the control options to actively reduce their energy consumption. The research is thus subjected to a genuine practical check. Finally, the goal is to develop customer-friendly market solutions.

ASCR 2.0

In January 2018, the ASCR project was extended by five years until 2023. The project partners provided another 45 million euros for this period. During the second phase, new buildings have to be found and the research questions are redefined. In addition to the deepening of research in the field of smart buildings and smart grids, the digitalisation of the entire energy system will become even more of a focus. With the extension of the project the area of e-mobility will now also be included.

Kontakt

Aspern Smart City Research Gmbh & Co KG (ASCR)

E-Mail: office@ascr.at

Website: www.ascr.at

This post is also available in: German

Die Aspern Smart City Research (ASCR) führt eines der innovativsten und nachhaltigsten Energieeffizienz-Demonstrationsprojekte Europas durch. Neben der Größe und Konstellation der Forschungsgesellschaft – stadtnahe Unternehmen und Industrie- sticht vor allem der integrative Ansatz hervor. Nicht Einzelelemente, sondern komplexe Zusammenhänge werden anhand realer Daten erforscht.

Die Aspern Smart City Research (ASCR) führt eines der innovativsten und nachhaltigsten Energieeffizienz-Demonstrationsprojekte Europas durch. Neben der Größe und Konstellation der Forschungsgesellschaft – stadtnahe Unternehmen und Industrie – sticht vor allem der integrative Ansatz hervor. Nicht Einzelelemente, sondern komplexe Zusammenhänge werden anhand realer Daten erforscht.

Die Forschungsgesellschaft ASCR wurde von Siemens AG Österreich (44,1%), Wien Energie GmbH (29,95 %), Wiener Netze GmbH (20%) und der Stadt Wien (Wirtschaftsagentur Wien 4,66%; Wien 3420 Holding GmbH, 1,29%) ins Leben gerufen. Ein Kooperationsmodell in dieser Größenordnung ist bis dato einmalig. Über 100 Personen aus unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Bereichen sind an diesem Forschungsvorhaben direkt beteiligt.

In diesem Joint Venture werden technische Lösungen für die Energiezukunft entwickelt, und zwar im realen Leben eines neu errichteten Stadtquartiers mit realen Endkunden. Dabei geht es um vorausschauende Gebäudeautomatisierungen und die Nutzung der Energie-Flexibilitäten der Gebäude auch am Energiemarkt – all das unter Einbindung der „Smart User“. Weiters werden optimale Methoden der Erfassung des Netzzustandes und der Netzplanung entwickelt. Sämtliche Lösungen basieren auf einer übergreifenden IKT, für die die geeigneten Big-Data-Modelle entwickelt und erprobt werden.

Als „Best Smart Project 2016“ gewann die ASCR den internationalen World Smart City Award. Das Wiener Forschungsprojekt konnte sich damit gegen 250 Teilnehmer aus 49 Ländern durch.

Ziele der ASCR

Grundlegendes Ziel der ASCR ist es, Lösungen für die Energiezukunft im urbanen Raum zu entwickeln und unser Energiesystem effizienter und klimafreundlicher zu machen. Um das zu erreichen, forscht die ASCR seit 2013 mit Echtdaten aus dem Stadtentwicklungsgebiet aspern Seestadt. Es wird also heute im Kleinen getestet, was morgen in der ganzen Stadt möglich sein wird.

Durch die Einbindung verschiedener Gebäudetypen (Schulcampus, Studentenheim, Wohnbau), des Energieversorgungssystems zusammen mit Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie und NutzerInnen – bietet das Testfeld einzigartige Möglichkeiten für die Energieforschung. Die Ergebnisse geben zum einen Aufschluss darüber, was technisch möglich ist und zum anderen, wie moderne Technologien von den NutzerInnen angenommen werden.

Der Input der Smart User, also der 111 am Forschungsprojekt teilnehmenden Haushalte, liefert einen täglichen Praxischeck. Die Erkenntnisse aus den User-Daten sind für Energieanbieter, wie Wien Energie, der Schlüssel zur Entwicklung marktorientierter, kundenfreundlicher Lösungen. Die ASCR beschäftigt sich also mit konkreter Anwendungsforschung, die der Stadt Wien und deren BewohnerInnen zu Gute kommt.

Forschungsbereiche der ASCR

Smart Building

Drei Gebäude – ein Wohnbau, ein Wohnheim für Studierende und ein Bildungscampus (derzeit Kindergarten und Volksschule) – bilden die Smart-Building-Untersuchungsobjekte der ASCR. Ausgestattet mit Photovoltaik, Solarthermie, Hybridanlagen, Wärmepumpen sowie verschiedenen thermischen und elektrischen Speichern agieren die Gebäude von morgen als echte Prosumer. Sie verbrauchen nicht nur Energie, sondern produzieren und speichern sie auch. Komplexe IKT-Systeme ermöglichen, die Verteilung, Nutzung, Speicherung und Weiterleitung der Energie optimal zu steuern. Ein Hauptaugenmerk der ASCR liegt darauf, den Eigenverbrauch im Gebäude zu optimieren. Heutigen Gebäudeoptimierungssystemen mangelt es nämlich an einer wesentlichen Komponente: Sie können noch nicht in die Zukunft blicken. Das soll sich bald ändern. Intelligente Gebäudesteuerungen sind darauf ausgerichtet, den voraussichtlichen Energiebedarf unter Berücksichtigung der Wetterprognose und anderer Daten vorherzuberechnen. Außerdem können sie Auskunft über den Zustand bestimmter Gebäudeeinheiten geben und bei der vorausschauenden Planung von Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen helfen.

Smart Grid

12 Netzstationen, 24 Transformatoren und zahlreiche Sensoren stellen die Basisinfrastruktur des ASCR Smart-Grid-Testbeds dar. Das allein macht das Stromnetz noch nicht intelligent, aber die ASCR untersucht daran, wie ein Übergang vom klassischen Netz in ein intelligentes Netz zu bewerkstelligen ist. Ziel ist es, die zusätzlichen Kosten für zukünftige Netze zu senken, die Zahl der erneuerbaren Quellen zu erhöhen und eine nachhaltige, sichere Plattform zwischen Prosumer, Gebäude und Markt zu schaffen.

Smart ICT

Die Smart ICT nutzt unter Einhaltung der Datenschutzrichtlinien sämtliche aus den Gebäuden und dem Netz gewonnenen Daten (Temperatur, Raumluft, Stromverbrauch, Spannung etc.) sowie externe Daten (zum Beispiel Wetter oder andere Ereignisse), um das Zusammenspiel von bzw. die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Netz und Gebäude zu analysieren. Der entscheidende Faktor ist die verschränkte Betrachtung der Daten aus den unterschiedlichen Domänen. Das ASCR-Forschungsteam stellt mit den Daten aus dem realen Testfeld die Realität digital nach, um damit beliebige Energiekonzepte und Optimierungsmaßnahmen zu simulieren. Ziel ist es, skalierbare und umsetzbare Lösungen für den urbanen Energiehaushalt zu entwickeln.

Smart User

Die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer stellen eine besonders wichtige Komponente in der Gesamtschau der ASCR-Forschungstätigkeit dar. Denn letztlich hängt es von ihnen ab, wie viel Energie das Gebäude benötigt. Am Forschungsprogramm nehmen 111 Haushalte (> 50%) teil, die sich ausdrücklich damit einverstanden erklärten, dass ihre Energieverbrauchs- und Raumregelungsdaten (Strom, Warm- und Kaltwasser, Zimmertemperatur, Raumluftqualität etc.) für Forschungszwecke verwendet werden. Die Zusammenarbeit mit den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern wird daher bis 2018 kontinuierlich sozialwissenschaftlich begleitet (Workshops und Befragungen).

Beispiele der User App

User und Forschung profitieren gleichermaßen von der Smart Home Control App der ASCR: 111 Haushalte aus einem Seestädter Wohnbau stellen ihre Energiedaten der ASCR zur Verfügung. Seit 2017 können sie ihren Energieverbrauch auch am Smartphone oder Tablet kontrollieren und steuern – mithilfe einer eigens entwickelten Smart Home Control App. Die mobile Anwendung bringt nicht nur einen Komfortgewinn für die User, sondern auch wichtige Erkenntnisse für die Energieforschung.

Strom und Heizung ökologischer und ökonomischer nutzen und das mit wenigen Klicks – von der Couch oder der U-Bahn aus. Gemeinsam mit den Softwareexperten von EMAKINA hat die Wiener Forschungsgesellschaft eine App entwickelt, die den NutzerInnen ermöglicht, ihren Energieverbrauch jederzeit zu kontrollieren und Heizung, Lüftung sowie Steckdosen mobil zu steuern. So kann man zum Beispiel die Heizung bequem während der Heimreise vom Winterurlaub aufdrehen oder am Weg zur Arbeit noch schnell alle Steckdosen ausschalten – ein einfacher und praktischer Weg um Energie zu sparen.

Die Daten, die über die App generiert werden, spielen wiederum eine wichtige Rolle für die Forschungsergebnisse der ASCR. Durch die App gewinnen sie Echtdaten, die neue Einblicke in das Userverhalten geben. Nach Auswertung der Daten lässt sich damit erstmals genau nachvollziehen, ob und wie die NutzerInnen die Steuerungsmöglichkeiten anwenden, um ihren Energieverbrauch aktiv zu senken. Die Forschung wird so einem echten Praxischeck unterzogen. Das Ziel ist es schließlich, kundenfreundliche Marktlösungen zu entwickeln.

Kontakt

Aspern Smart City Research Gmbh & Co KG (ASCR)

E-Mail: office@ascr.at

Website: www.ascr.at