© Manfred Pendl

With CITY NATURE, Vienna and Bratislava want to strengthen the protection of biological diversity in existing areas and cultural landscapes at the outskirts of the cities.

In Vienna, the transfer of knowledge about existing offers is the focus of the Vienna Environmental Protection Department (municipal department 22). The Slovak partners (Mestske lesy v Bratislave) are planning a new information center and are relying on environmental education measures. For example, experts and volunteers cultivate meadows together or examine bat populations. Both sides also rely on joint public relations work – e.g. through a cross-border “biodiversity day”, which took place in Vienna in 2019. The project started in 2019 and is co-financed with funds from the Interreg SK-AT funding program.

Citizens take action

The twin cities actively involve citizens in maintaining biodiversity. Operationally, the cultivation in the form of meadow management is central. By participating in maintenance campaigns or species monitoring, citizens see how important meadows are for maintaining biodiversity. In addition to the meadow plants and their variety of insects, the focus is also on bats and common house martins, which are equipped with small transmitters or subjected to monitoring (common house martins).

Thus, the awareness of citizens for the value of nature is raised. The CITY NATURE website has been bundling the most important information online since 2019. A dedicated service point handles all specialist questions on flowering areas and animals on buildings in the context of urban development. Trainings and interactive exhibitions with excursions and discussions as well as workshops complete the offer.

Smart City Wien relies on 50 percent green space

Vienna and Bratislava are both green, species-rich cities connected by the green band of the Danube wetlands. Both cities are expected to grow considerably over the next decades. The need for recreational areas and the pressure to use them are increasing. Nature protection meets the demands of those who are looking for relaxation. The Smart City Wien Framework Strategy aims to maintain the green space share over 50 percent. This requires measures to be taken on buildings and in the recreation areas themselves. Good communication is also required to convey the indispensability of nature at the regulars’ tables.

Background

The CITY NATURE project is part of the Interreg V-A SK-AT cooperation program, which is co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). The project from priority axis 2 (promotion of natural and cultural heritage and biodiversity) has a duration of 36 months (2019-2021) and a total budget of 1.67 million euros. The city of Bratislava acts as lead partner with MLB (Mestske lesy v Bratislave), the Vienna Environmental Protection Department (municipal department 22) is a project partner on the Austrian side. In addition, on the Slovak side DAPHNE (Inštitút aplikovanej ekologie) cooperate as a second project partner and another eight strategic project partners in quality assurance.

strategic partners in Austria:

  • municipal department 18 (Urban Development and Planning)
  • municipal department 21 (District Planning and Land Use)
  • municipal department 42 (Parks and Gardens)
  • municipal department 49 (Forestry Office and Urban Agriculture)
  • Wienerwald Biosphere Reserve Management GmbH

strategic partners in Slovakia:

  • Hlavné mesto SR Bratislava
  • Národné lesnícke centrum
  • Chránená krajinná oblasť Malé Karpaty

Further information can be found here: www.city-nature.eu

Contact

municipal department 22 (Environmental Protection)

E-Mail: post@ma22.wien.gv.at

Website: www.city-nature.eu

This post is also available in: German

© Manfred Pendl

Die Städte Wien und Bratislava wollen mit CITY NATURE die biologische Vielfalt im Bestandsgebiet und die Kulturlandschaften in Stadtrandgebieten stärker schützen.

In Wien steht der Wissenstransfer von und zu bestehenden Angeboten im Fokus der Wiener Umweltschutzabteilung (MA 22). Die slowakischen Partner (Mestske lesy v Bratislave) planen ein eigenes Infozentrum und setzen auf Umweltbildungsmaßnahmen. Zum Beispiel pflegen ExpertInnen und Freiwillige gemeinsam Wiesen oder untersuchen Fledermausbestände. Beide Seiten setzen außerdem auf gemeinsame Öffentlichkeitsarbeit – z.B. auf einen grenzüberschreitenden „Tag der Artenvielfalt“, der bereits 2019 in Wien stattfand. Das Projekt startete 2019 und wird mit Mitteln aus dem Förderprogramm Interreg SK-AT kofinanziert.

BürgerInnen werden aktiv

Die Twin-Cities binden die Bevölkerung beim Erhalt der Biodiversität aktiv ein. Operativ ist die Kulturlandpflege in Form von Wiesenbewirtschaftung zentral. Indem die Menschen bei Pflegeaktionen oder Arten-Monitoring mitmachen, sehen sie wie wichtig Wiesen für die Erhaltung der Artenvielfalt sind. Im Fokus stehen neben den Wiesenpflanzen und deren Insektenvielfalt auch Fledermäuse und Mehlschwalben, die besendert bzw. einem Monitoring (Mehlschwalben) unterzogen werden.

BürgerInnen sollen auf diese Weise mehr Bewusstsein für den Wert der Natur bilden. Online bündelt die CITY NATURE Website die wichtigsten Infos bereits seit 2019. Eine eigene Service-Stelle bearbeitet dafür sämtliche Fachfragen zu Blühflächen und zu Tieren an Gebäuden im Kontext der Stadtentwicklung. Schulungen sowie interaktive Ausstellungen mit Exkursionen und Diskussionen sowie Workshops ergänzen das Angebot.

Smart City Wien setzt auf 50 Prozent Grünraume

Wien als auch Bratislava sind grüne, artenreiche Städte. Das grüne Band der Donauauen verbindet die europäischen Hauptstädte. Beide Metropolen erwarten in den nächsten Jahrzehnten ein starkes Wachstum. Der Bedarf an Erholungsgebieten und der Nutzungsdruck steigen. Naturschutz trifft auf die Ansprüche der immer zahlreicher werdenden Erholungssuchenden. Die Smart City Wien Rahmenstrategie sieht vor, den Grünraumanteil von über 50 Prozent zu erhalten. Das verlangt Maßnahmen an Gebäuden und in den Erholungsgebieten selbst. Es braucht außerdem gute Kommunikation, um die Unverzichtbarkeit der Natur an den Stammtischen zu vermitteln.

Hintergrund

Das Projekt CITY NATURE findet im Rahmen des Interreg V-A SK-AT – Kooperationsprogramms statt, das vom Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) ko-finanziert wird. Das Projekt aus der Prioritätsachse 2 (Förderung des Natur- u. Kulturerbes und der Biodiversität) hat eine Laufzeit von 36 Monaten (2019-2021) und ein Gesamtbudget von 1,67 Mio. Euro. Die Stadt Bratislava fungiert mit MLB (Mestske lesy v Bratislave) als Leadpartner, die Wiener Umweltschutzabteilung – MA 22 ist Projektpartnerin auf österreichischer Seite. Zudem kooperieren auf slowakischer Seite DAPHNE (Inštitút aplikovanej ekologie) als zweiter Projektpartner und weitere acht strategische ProjektpartnerInnen in der Qualitätssicherung.

Strategische PartnerInnen auf österreichischer Seite:

  • MA 18 (Stadtentwicklung und Stadtplanung)
  • MA 21 (Stadtteilplanung und Flächenwidmung)
  • MA 42 (Wiener Stadtgärten)
  • MA 49 (Forst- und Landwirtschaftsbetrieb)
  • Biosphärenpark Wienerwald Management GmbH

Strategische PartnerInnen auf slowakischer Seite:

  • Hlavné mesto SR Bratislava
  • Národné lesnícke centrum
  • Chránená krajinná oblasť Malé Karpaty

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.city-nature.eu.

Kontakt

MA 22 (Umweltschutz)

E-Mail: post@ma22.wien.gv.at

Website: www.city-nature.eu

This post is also available in: Englisch