Co-Creation Lab Vienna © Fotolia

The Vienna Business Agency tries to actively tackle the topic “co-creation” and has thus developed the “Co-Creation Lab Vienna”. The reasoning is that the earlier the later users are involved in the development, the greater the chance that newly developed products and services will actually find a market.

Currently, the Co-Creation Lab Vienna is already entering its second round. Once again, established companies and organisations are called upon to submit a specific challenge they face in their daily work. Innovative start-ups and technology companies will subsequently develop solutions to the formulated challenges. As part of the Co-Creation Lab, the Vienna Business Agency brings together the best-suited partner companies, which tailor a solution together.

Renowned companies benefit from the innovative power and know-how of young companies, while they benefit from the networks and the expertise of the established players.

Successful Start

The Co-Creation Lab was a complete success in its pilot stage: in 2016, a total of 75 young companies submitted solutions to eight challenges. The teams that resulted from those challenges are currently working on the implementation of joint projects.

Vienna International Airport, for example, is working on the implementation of a baggage system that is designed to facilitate baggage check-in and collection for travelers. “Engie Gebäudetechnik” is developing a solution to optimize logistical issues on construction sites, such as the availability of small parts. Also on board: the Port of Vienna, the Municipal Department 33 – Public Lighting, Melecs EWS and Tele Haase Steuergeräte.

Example for a Challenge

An example for a challenge from the pilot year 2016 deals with the energetic optimization of buildings. The estimation of the optimization potential of buildings is usually carried out by means of complex individual case tests. Although databases exist in which reference buildings are depicted, they are not used. In the future, an automated solution is to be used, which allows building technicians to quickly supply potential customers with important parameters. ENGIE Gebäudetechnik therefore filed the challenge for the development of an automated benchmarking system at the Co-Creation Lab Vienna. The following actors were involved in solving the problem: (1) the Smart Buildings team of the AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, (2) gizmocraft design and technology – a company with expertise in database applications and data intelligence, and (3) Xylem Technologies – a Vienna based company that has been developing innovative software solutions in the fields of IT security and energy efficiency since 2009.

Contact

Lukas Lengauer

Technology Services

Vienna Business Agency

E-Mail: lengauer@wirtschaftsagentur.at

Website: Vienna Business Agency

This post is also available in: German

Co-Creation Lab Vienna © Fotolia

Die Wirtschaftsagentur Wien setzt sich aktiv mit der Thematik der „Co-Creation“ auseinander und hat dazu das „Co-Creation Lab Vienna“ entwickelt. Denn: Je früher die späteren Nutzerinnen und Anwender bei der Entwicklung eingebunden werden, desto größer ist die Chance, dass neu entwickelte Produkte und Services auch wirklich einen Markt finden.

Aktuell geht das Co-Creation Lab Vienna bereits in die zweite Runde. Einmal mehr sind etablierte Unternehmen und Organisationen aufgerufen, eine konkrete Fragestellung, der sie in ihrer täglichen Arbeit gegenüberstehen, einzusenden. Innovative Start-ups und Technologiefirmen entwickeln in Folge konkrete Lösungsansätze zu den formulierten Herausforderungen. Im Rahmen des Co-Creation Lab bringt die Wirtschaftsagentur Wien die am besten passenden Partner-Unternehmen zusammen, die in Folge gemeinsam eine Lösung maßschneidern.

Renommierte Unternehmen profitieren dabei von Innovationskraft und Know-How junger Betriebe und diese wiederum von den Netzwerken und der Expertise der etablierten Player.

Erfolgreicher Start

Bereits im Pilotdurchgang war das Co-Creation Lab ein voller Erfolg: 2016 reichten insgesamt 75 Jungunternehmen ihre Lösungsideen zu acht Challenges ein. Die daraus entstandenen Teams arbeiten derzeit an der Umsetzung der gemeinsamen Projekte.

So arbeitet etwa der Flughafen Wien an der Umsetzung eines Gepäcksystems, das die Gepäckaufgabe und -abholung für Reisende erleichtern soll. Engie Gebäudetechnik entwickelt eine Lösung, um logistische Fragestellungen auf Baustellen, wie etwa die Verfügbarkeit von Kleinteilen, zu optimieren. Auch mit dabei: der Wiener Hafen, die MA 33, Melecs EWS sowie Tele Haase Steuergeräte.

Beispiel-Challenge

Ein Beispiel für eine Challenge aus dem Pilotjahr 2016 dreht sich um die energetische Optimierung von Gebäuden. Die Abschätzung des Optimierungspotenzials von Gebäuden wird zumeist durch aufwändige Einzelfallprüfungen abgewickelt. Es existieren zwar Datenbanken, in denen Referenzgebäude abgebildet sind, sie werden jedoch nicht verwendet. In Zukunft soll eine automatisierte Lösung zum Einsatz kommen, die es GebäudetechnikerInnen ermöglicht, potenzielle KundInnen schnell mit wichtigen Kennwerten zu versorgen. ENGIE Gebäudetechnik schrieb deswegen die Entwicklung eines automatisierten Benchmarking-Systems beim Co-Creation Lab Vienna aus. An der Lösung des Problems waren folgende Akteure beteiligt: (1) das Smart Buildings Team des AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, (2) gizmocraft design and technology, die über Expertise im Bereich Datenbank-Applikationen sowie Data Intelligence verfügen, und (3) Xylem Technologies, die seit 2009 innovative Softwarelösungen in den Bereichen IT-Sicherheit und Energieeffizienz in Wien entwickeln.

Kontakt

Lukas Lengauer

Technologie Services

Wirtschaftsagentur Wien

E-Mail: lengauer@wirtschaftsagentur.at

Website: Wirtschaftsagentur Wien

This post is also available in: Englisch