© Wien Energie/Ian Ehm

The Power-2-Heat plant in Leopoldau converts excess electricity into heat and thus contributes to energy being used intelligently and more efficiently. The state-of-the-art facility can take up power of up to ten wind turbines and convert it into heat with virtually no loss. The resulting heat is fed into the Vienna district heating network in the form of hot water and can supply clean heat for up to 20,000 households.

Heat is an essential sector of the energy transition: it facilitates the integration of renewable electricity into the energy system. Wien Energie relies on innovative solutions – in December 2017, a Power-2-Heat plant in Leopoldau was put into operation. This state-of-the-art facility couples the power grid and the district heating networks to use energy intelligently and more efficiently. The integrated consideration of different sectors is essential for the energy transition. The Power-2-Heat plant in Leopoldau is about an unconventional coupling of the electricity and heat sectors. This makes sense ecologically, since fossil fuels are saved for heat generation. Heat can also be stored more easily and economically than electricity and is therefore an important part of an integrated energy system.

Energy from 10 wind turbines

The Power-2-Heat system is powered by clean excess electricity. An excess of energy arises, for example, from particularly strong wind. Wind turbines may then produce significantly more electricity than consumed at this moment. With the Power-2-Heat plant with a total output of 20 megawatts, Wien Energie is creating the opportunity to further consolidate its district heating network and at the same time is taking an important step in the energy transition. Wien Energie has the capacity to take in the power from up to ten wind turbines and convert it into heat with virtually no loss.

The new system is activated in the event of a power oversupply and absorbs the surplus. As a result, the system contributes to the stabilization of the power grid and enables the full use of electricity from renewable sources. The resulting heat is fed into the Vienna district heating network in the form of hot water and can thus be used directly and efficiently in the surrounding households in north-western Vienna. Up to 20,000 households can thus be supplied with clean heat.

This is how the Power-2-Heat system works

The production of renewable energy such as solar or wind power is difficult to control and weather dependent. Thus, in strong winds much more energy is produced than needed at that moment and there is an oversupply. In this case, the Power-2-Heat system is activated. In the plant itself, the excess electricity from the grid is used in electrode boilers to heat water. A heat exchanger feeds the hot water, which is approx. 160 degrees Celsius, into the district heating network. The facility in Leopoldau consists of two plants each with 10 MW output – these can be operated independently of each other. If one heater fails, the second can take over the load immediately.

The plants do not run in continuous operation, but only take power when there is an oversupply. In addition, the system also serves as a backup reserve for the district heating network in cold months. Here the plant operation directly follows the needs of the district heating network. The “mission order” comes directly from the load distributor of Wien Energie. The entire system is integrated in the control technology of Wien Energie and is operated and monitored from Spittelau.

Key data: Power-2-Heat plant Leopoldau

  • two electrode boilers with 10 MW each and max. 12 bar
  • heats water to over 160 degrees Celsius with excess electricity from the grid
  • can supply up to 20,000 households with heat
  • can take up electricity from up to 10 wind turbines

Key data: Wien Energie district heating

  • Wien Energie supplies 380,000 households and 6.800 large-scale customers with district heat
  • In its beginnings almost 50 years ago, the district heating network was 26 kilometers long and served the Vienna General Hospital and a few large community buildings. Today there are more than 1,200 kilometers of pipes (equivalent to the distance from Vienna to Paris) and district heat can be obtained in all 23 districts.

Contact

Wien Energie GmbH

E-Mail: office@wienenergie.at

Website: www.wienenergie.at

This post is also available in: German

© Wien Energie/Ian Ehm

Die Power-2-Heat-Anlage in Wien Leopoldau wandelt überschüssigen Strom in Wärme um und trägt somit dazu bei, dass Energie intelligent und noch effizienter genutzt wird. Die hochmoderne Anlage kann den Strom von bis zu zehn Windkraftanlagen aufnehmen und nahezu verlustfrei in Wärme umzuwandeln. Die entstandene Wärme wird in Form von heißem Wasser in das Wiener Fernwärmenetz eingespeist und liefert saubere Wärme für bis zu 20.000 Haushalte.

Wärme ist ein wesentlicher Baustein der Energiewende: Sie erleichtert die Integration erneuerbaren Stroms ins Energiesystem. Wien Energie setzt dabei auf innovative Lösungen – im Dezember 2017 wurde eine Power-2-Heat-Anlage in der Leopoldau in Betrieb genommen. Diese hochmoderne Anlage koppelt Strom- und Fernwärmenetz, um Energie intelligent und noch effizienter zu nutzen. Die integrierte Betrachtung unterschiedlicher Sektoren ist wesentlich für die Energiewende. Mit der Power-2-Heat-Anlage in der Leopoldau geht es um eine unkonventionelle Koppelung der Sektoren Strom und Wärme. Das ist ökologisch sinnvoll, da fossile Brennstoffe für Wärmeerzeugung gespart werden. Wärme kann zudem einfacher und wirtschaftlich günstiger gespeichert werden als Strom und ist daher wesentlicher Bestandteil in einem integrierten Energiesystem.

Energie von 10 Windrädern

Angetrieben wird die Power-2-Heat-Anlage mit sauberem Überschuss-Strom. Ein Überschuss an Energie entsteht zum Beispiel bei besonders starkem Wind. Windkraftanlagen produzieren dann gegebenenfalls deutlich mehr Strom als gerade verbraucht wird. Mit der Power-2-Heat-Anlage mit einer Gesamtleistung von 20 Megawatt schafft Wien Energie die Möglichkeit, das Fernwärmenetz weiter zu verdichten und setzt gleichzeitig einen wichtigen Schritt für die Energiewende. Wien Energie hat hier die Kapazität, den Strom von bis zu zehn Windkraftanlagen aufzunehmen und nahezu verlustfrei in Wärme umzuwandeln.

Die neue Anlage wird im Falle eines Strom-Überangebots aktiviert und nimmt den Überschuss auf. Dadurch trägt die Anlage zur Stabilisierung des Stromnetzes bei und ermöglicht die vollständige Nutzung von Strom aus erneuerbaren Quellen. Die entstandene Wärme wird in Form von heißem Wasser in das Wiener Fernwärmenetz eingespeist und kann so direkt und effizient in den umliegenden Haushalten im Nordwesten Wiens genutzt werden. Bis zu 20.000 Haushalte können so mit sauberer Wärme versorgt werden.

So funktioniert die Power-2-Heat-Anlage

Die Produktion von erneuerbarer Energie wie Solar- oder Windstrom ist schwer steuerbar und wetterabhängig. So wird bei starkem Wind gegebenenfalls viel mehr Energie produziert als aktuell verbraucht wird und es entsteht ein Überangebot. In diesem Fall wird die Power-2-Heat-Anlage aktiviert. In der Anlage selbst wird der überschüssige Strom aus dem Netz in Elektroden-Kesseln zur Erhitzung von Wasser genutzt. Über einen Wärmetauscher wird das auf ca. 160 Grad Celsius heiße Wasser ins Fernwärmenetz eingespeist. Die Einrichtung in der Leopoldau besteht aus zwei Anlagen mit je 10 MW Leistung – diese können unabhängig voneinander betrieben werden. Fällt ein Heizer aus, kann der Zweite umgehend die Last übernehmen.

Die Anlagen laufen nicht im Dauerbetrieb, sondern nehmen dann Strom auf, wenn ein Überangebot gegeben ist. Daneben dient die Anlage außerdem in kalten Monaten als Ausfallreserve für das Fernwärmenetz. Hier folgt der Anlagenbetrieb unmittelbar den Bedürfnissen des Fernwärmenetzes. Der „Einsatzbefehl“ wird direkt vom Lastverteiler der Wien Energie abgesetzt. Die gesamte Anlage ist in die Leittechnik der Wien Energie eingebunden und wird vom Standort Spittelau aus betrieben und überwacht.

Eckdaten: Power-2-Heat-Anlage Leopoldau

  • zwei Elektroden-Kessel mit je 10 MW Leistung und max. 12 bar
  • erhitzt mit überschüssigem Strom aus dem Netz Wasser auf über 160 Grad Celsius
  • kann bis zu 20.000 Haushalte mit Wärme versorgen
  • kann Strom von z.B. 10 Windkraftanlagen aufnehmen

Eckdaten: Fernwärme von Wien Energie

  • Wien Energie versorgt 380.000 Haushalte und 6.800 Großkunden mit Fernwärme
  • In den Anfängen vor knapp 50 Jahren war das Fernwärmenetz 26 Kilometer lang und versorgte das Allgemeine Krankenhaus Wien und einige wenige große Gemeindebauten. Heute: Über 1.200 Kilometer Leitungen (entspricht der Strecke Wien – Paris). In allen 23 Bezirken kann Fernwärme bezogen werden.

Kontakt

Wien Energie GmbH

E-Mail: office@wienenergie.at

Website: www.wienenergie.at

This post is also available in: Englisch