© Wien Energie

Wien Energie uses drones for the maintenance of wind farms, photovoltaic systems, district heating pipes and industrial chimneys. As a result, system downtimes can be reduced and maintenance excavations avoided.

Inspections make an important contribution to the sustainable operation and the efficiency of technical installations. For the visual inspection of those installations, drones are very welcome as they can reduce the number and the duration of downtimes.

Innovation Challenge to Cooperation

In the field of drone maintenance Wien Energie is cooperating with the start-ups Skyability and Birds.ai. The service developed in 2017 from the first Innovation Challenge of Wien Energie and today is a fully-fledged business model. The smart drones are used for wind farms, photovoltaic systems, for the maintenance of district heating pipes and industrial chimneys..

Maintenance Procedure

The process is relatively similar across all applications: During maintenance, images are collected using RGB and thermography cameras and can be tracked live. Subsequently, the data is analysed with the support of artificial intelligence and possible damages can be identified.

The data is archived in a database in order to serve as a reference for later and other inspections. Changes on the surface and inside of e.g. photovoltaic panels, can thus be detected, documented and classified over longer periods of time.

Within the city drones are used for the maintenance of district heating pipes. The thermography cameras detect leakages and thus unnecessary excavations can be avoided. This saves effort, costs and annoyance – if the roads would have to be closed for example.

The advantages of drone maintenance

  • objective assessment and forecast by means of artificial intelligence
  • increased safety at work through rapid data collection
  • minimising downtimes
  • improvement of system documentation
  • errors can be monitored and changes detected automatically
  • ensuring the quality of service through TÜV Austria certification

WE_Drohne_v09 from Wien Energie GmbH on Vimeo.

Contact

Wien Energie GmbH

Website: www.wienenergie.at/drohne (in German)

 

This post is also available in: German

© Wien Energie

Für die Wartung von Windparks, Photovoltaik-Anlagen, Fernwärmeleitungen sowie Industrieschornsteinen kommen bei Wien Energie Drohnen zum Einsatz. Dadurch können Anlagenstillstandszeiten reduziert und Wartungsgrabungen vermieden werden.

Inspektionen tragen einen wichtigen Teil zur nachhaltigen Funktionsfähigkeit sowie der Effizienzsicherung von technischen Anlagen bei. Im Bereich der visuellen Inspektion sind Drohnen sehr willkommen, da Anlagenstillstandszeiten reduziert und lange Ausfallzeiten vermieden werden können.

Von der Challenge zur Kooperation

Wien Energie arbeitet bei der Drohnen-Wartung mit den Start-Ups Skyability und Birds.ai zusammen. Die Dienstleistung hat sich 2017 aus der ersten Wien Energie-Innovation Challenge entwickelt und ist heute ein vollwertiges Geschäftsmodell. Zum Einsatz kommen die smarten Drohnen in Windparks, bei Photovoltaik-Anlagen, für die Wartung von Fernwärmeleitungen sowie Industrieschornsteinen.

Ablauf der Wartung

Der Prozess ist bei allen Anlange relativ ähnlich: Während der Wartung werden Aufnahmen mittels RGB- und Thermographie-Kameras gesammelt und können live mitverfolgt werden. Im Anschluss werden die Daten mittels künstlicher Intelligenz durchsucht und mögliche Schäden aufgezeigt.

Diese reproduzierten Daten werden archiviert und für Zustandsvergleiche herangezogen. Veränderungen an der Oberfläche und im Inneren z.B. bei Photovoltaik-Paneelen können so über längere Zeiträume festgestellt, dokumentiert und klassifiziert werden.

In der Stadt finden die Drohnen bei der Wartung von Fernwärmeleitungen Anwendung. Die Thermographie-Kameras erkennen Lecks in den Leitungen ohne Grabungen durchführen zu müssen. Das spart Aufwand, Kosten und auch Ärger – beispielsweise wenn dadurch Straßen gesperrt werden müssten.

Die Vorteile der Drohnen-Wartung

  • objektive Beurteilung und Prognose mittels künstlicher Intelligenz
  • Erhöhung der Arbeitssicherheit durch rasche Datenerfassung
  • Minimierung der Stillstands- und Ausfallszeiten
  • Verbesserung der Anlagendokumentation
  • Fehlerbilder können beobachtet und Veränderungen automatisch erkannt werden
  • Sicherstellung der Qualität der Dienstleistung durch TÜV-Austria-Zertifizierung

WE_Drohne_v09 from Wien Energie GmbH on Vimeo.

Kontakt

Wien Energie GmbH

Website: www.wienenergie.at/drohne

This post is also available in: Englisch