© PID/Christian Fürthner

The programme “Wien gibt Raum” captures and maps Vienna’s public space and the objects that are in it. The collected data is used to centralise official permit procedures for e.g. street cafés, parklets, street festivals and many other projects in public space. Thus, the use of public space for citizens and businesses is to be simplified.

Urban public space is like a modern city’s calling card: locals spend a significant part of their daily lives in public areas, and for visitors, public space makes up a major share of the city’s special flair and ambiance. At the same time, public spaces are expected to meet a variety of different, often conflicting needs and interests.

City administrations are faced with the task of providing an adequate legal and organisational framework for these needs and interests. In this context, it is important to keep public spaces usable and freely accessible while at the same time guaranteeing safe, speedy and smooth traffic flow.

300 000 objects in public spaces

The so-called urban furniture – i.e. objects and structures present in publicly managed areas or intended for them – constitutes a central factor in using and managing public space. Urban furniture is a blanket term for a wide variety of functional and design elements, including, for example, bike stands, newspaper boxes, advertisements and signboards, benches and seats, fountains, snack stalls, kiosks, street cafés and seasonal outdoor eating areas (dubbed “Schanigärten” in Vienna). According to estimates, over 300,000 pieces of urban furniture can currently be found in Vienna’s public space – without even counting pending applications for temporary events, markets and structural elements.

Different departments of the Vienna City Administration are in charge of different aspects of public space management, depending on the intended purpose or type of use. As a result, prospective users of public space may be required to submit applications to different municipal departments for a single event or structural measure. This, in turn, complicates information exchange among the different units and services of the City Administration due to variety of internal information interfaces and different ICT solutions for the management of special uses in public space. At the same time, many official approval procedures require on-site inspections, e.g. as a basis for drawing up expert statements on safety aspects or protecting key aspects of the urban landscape.

One-stop shop for official permits

Against the backdrop of this challenge, the City of Vienna decided to launch a new public space management programme termed Wien gibt Raum. The programme aims to reorganise the distribution of tasks and responsibilities for official permits and the management of objects and activities in public space. Internal administration processes are restructured; at the same time, users are provided with a new customer interface in the form of a (digital or physical) one-stop shop, which is based on customised software solutions.

Moreover, the entire legal framework for official permits regarding public space is evaluated and modernised where necessary. Some of the measures defined by Wien gibt Raum, such as “Implementing an information platform on urban furniture” (task 21) or “Centralising and simplifying approval procedures” (task 22)“ have also been included as specific tasks in the Thematic Concept on Public Space. The programme Wien gibt Raum is scheduled for five years, 2017 to 2022, and combines several projects focusing on different organisational or technological aspects of public space management. Its overall goal consists making it making it easier for local residents and businesses to use public space. Geodata, surveying data and image data of the status quo, as well as data on permits granted and applications submitted are integrated in a single database to facilitate effective networking between City Administration departments. The local population and business community benefit from the programme by getting a single contact – a digital or physical one-stop shop – for all inquiries and applications regarding public space to a single. At the same time, the database provides a reliable, comprehensive overview of all objects and structures present in the city’s public space, making it easier for the City of Vienna to manage public space as a whole. This also provides the basis for “decluttering” urban public space, i.e. removing illegal structures and objects, thus making more room for all user groups in the city and guaranteeing fair use of public space for everyone. So far Vienna has been the only European city to adopt this novel and comprehensive approach.

Mapping the city

The basis for many steps taken for Wien gibt Raum is provided by comprehensive surveying of all objects and structures currently found in public areas. More specifically, mobile mapping is used to document the city’s actual status quo at a given point in time. This task is implemented by Municipal Department 41 (MA 41 – Surveyors), which serves as an internal provider of geodata for the City of Vienna. The MA 41 mobile mapping campaign employs modern imaging technologies to produce a detailed image of the city, which is subsequently used to extract the three-dimensional features of public space in Vienna. In future, the City Administration will have access to a systematic catalogue of all objects and structures in public space, including image data and specific GIS layers for different categories of urban furniture. The GIS layers are a prerequisite for visualising the data (i.e. inventory data and information on official permits granted) in jointly used ICT systems and for administrative monitoring processes. The image data obtained by mobile mapping are made available to the departments of the Vienna City Administration in the form of an easy-to-use, web-based image data service. The new solution can replace some of the on-site inspections or expert opinions required for future administrative processes, thus saving both time and expenses.

Contact

Programme Manager David Vladar

Municipal Department 65 – Legal Affairs: Transport and Traffic

E-Mail: david.vladar@wien.gv.at

Website: www.wiengibtraum.at

This post is also available in: German

© PID/Christian Fürthner

Durch das Programm „Wien gibt Raum“ wird der öffentliche Raum und Objekte, die sich darin befinden, erfasst und vermessen. Die gesammelten Daten werden verwendet um Bewilligungsverfahren für z.B. Schanigärten, Grätzloasen, Straßenfeste und viele andere Vorhaben im öffentlichen Raum zentral abwickeln zu können. Somit soll die Nutzung des öffentlichen Raums für Bürgerinnen und Bürger sowie Unternehmen vereinfacht werden.

Der öffentliche Raum ist das Aushängeschild einer modernen Stadt. In ihm spielt sich ein wichtiger Teil des Alltagslebens der Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner ab und er bildet für Besucherinnen und Besucher einen wesentlichen Teil der „Atmosphäre“ einer Stadt. Im öffentlichen Raum treten aber auch die unterschiedlichsten Interessen und Bedürfnisse in Konkurrenz zueinander.

Die Aufgabe einer Verwaltung ist es, einen rechtlichen und organisatorischen Rahmen für diese Interessen und Bedürfnisse zu schaffen. Dabei müssen die Nutzbarkeit des öffentlichen Raums aufrechterhalten und frei zugängliche Flächen gesichert sowie die Sicherheit, Leichtigkeit und Flüssigkeit des Verkehrs gewährleistet werden.

300.000 Stadtmöbel auf Wiens Straßen

Ein wesentlicher Faktor bei der Nutzung und Verwaltung des öffentlichen Raumes sind Objekte (sogenannte Stadtmöbel), die auf öffentlich verwaltetem Grund aufgestellt sind oder aufgestellt werden sollen. Die Bandbreite reicht dabei – ohne Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit – von Fahrradständern, Zeitungsentnahmeboxen oder Werbeschildern über Sitzmöbel und Brunnen bis hin zu Imbissständen, Kiosken oder Schanigärten (Straßencafés). Für Wien geht man derzeit von mehr als 300.000 solcher Objekte aus. Dazu kommen noch Verwaltungsabläufe für Veranstaltungen, Märkte und bauliche Nutzungen.

In Verbindung mit diesen Nutzungsarten sind in Wien unterschiedlichste Abteilungen der öffentlichen Verwaltung für Einzelaspekte zuständig, sodass potentielle Nutzerinnen und Nutzer zum Teil Genehmigungen mehrerer Magistratsabteilungen für eine einzelne Nutzung benötigen. Auf Verwaltungsseite ergibt sich dadurch die Problematik des schwierigen Informationsaustausches zwischen Organisationseinheiten, einer hohen Anzahl interner Schnittstellen sowie uneinheitlicher EDV-Lösungen für die Verwaltung von Sondernutzungen des öffentlichen Raumes. Zusätzlich sind für zahlreiche Genehmigungsverfahren Ortsaugenscheine vorgesehen, um beispielsweise Stellungnahmen zu Sicherheits- oder Stadtbildaspekten abzugeben.

One-Stop-Shop für Bewilligungen

Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Herausforderung hat der Magistrat der Stadt Wien das Programm „Wien gibt Raum“ ins Leben gerufen. Das Programm reorganisiert die Zuständigkeiten für die Bewilligung und Verwaltung von Objekten und Aktivitäten im öffentlichen Raum. Dabei werden die internen Prozesse der Stadtverwaltung hinter einer neu gestalteten KundInnenschnittstelle (einem digitalen bzw. physischen One-Stop-Shop) neu aufgestellt und durch speziell angepasste Softwaretools unterstützt.

Darüber hinaus werden die rechtlichen Vorgaben für solche Bewilligungen evaluiert und wenn notwendig modernisiert. Einige Maßnahmen des Programmes „Wien gibt Raum“ sind auch als Punkt 21 „Informationsplattform für Stadtmöblierungselemente umsetzen“ und Punkt 22 „Bewilligungsverfahren zentral steuern und vereinfachen“ in das Fachkonzept Öffentlicher Raum eingeflossen. Das von 2017 bis 2022 laufende Programm bildet eine Klammer über mehrere Projekte, die sich mit Einzelaspekten organisatorischer bzw. technischer Natur beschäftigen. Ziel von „Wien gibt Raum“ ist, die Nutzung des öffentlichen Raums für Bürgerinnen und Bürger sowie Unternehmen zu vereinfachen. Mittels einer Software werden Geoinformationen, Vermessungs- und Bilddaten des Ist-Standes sowie Daten über vorhandene Genehmigungen und Anträge zusammengeführt. So können sich die beteiligten Dienststellen des Magistrats besser vernetzen. Der Vorteil für Bürgerinnen und Bürger sowie Unternehmen ist, dass sie über einen digitalen bzw. physischen One-Stop-Shop eine zentrale Ansprechstelle für ihr Anliegen und alle Genehmigungen aus einer Hand erhalten. Gleichzeitig erhält der Magistrat der Stadt Wien als Verwalter öffentlicher Flächen einen Überblick über die tatsächlich im öffentlichen Raum befindlichen Objekte. Dies ist die Grundlage dafür, ihn zu entrümpeln – ihn also von widerrechtlich aufgestellten Objekten zu befreien und somit mehr Platz für alle zu schaffen und eine faire Nutzung für alle zu gewährleisten. Dieser umfassende Ansatz ist in Europa bisher einzigartig.

Die Vermessung der Stadt

Grundlage für viele Schritte des Programmes ist eine vermessungstechnische Erfassung der bestehenden Objekte im öffentlichen Raum durch eine Mobile Mapping Kampagne – also eine Dokumentation des Naturstandes zu einem definierten Zeitpunkt. Die Erfassung des öffentlichen Raumes wird operativ von der Magistratsabteilung 41 – Stadtvermessung Wien durchgeführt, die für die Stadt Wien als magistratsinterner Geodatenprovider agiert. Durch eine bildgebende Mobile Mapping Kampagne wird ein Abbild der Stadt generiert, das in weiterer Folge für die dreidimensionale Extraktion von Merkmalen des öffentlichen Raums genutzt wird. Zukünftig sollen anhand eines klar definierten Objektkataloges Objekte des öffentlichen Raumes klar beschrieben werden, um in weiterer Folge in den Bilddaten verortet und zu stadtmöblierungsspezifischen GIS-Layern hinzugefügt zu werden. Diese GIS-Layer bilden die Grundlage für Visualisierungen von Bestands- und Genehmigungsdaten in den gemeinsam genutzten EDV-Systemen sowie für Kontrollprozesse in der Verwaltung. Die Bilddaten der Mobile Mapping Kampagne werden für die Wiener Stadtverwaltung in einem einfach benutzbaren, webbasierten Bilddatendienst zur Verfügung gestellt, mit dem zukünftig ein Teil der Ortsaugenscheine bzw. Stellungnahmen digital vom Schreibtisch aus durchgeführt werden können. So können Zeit und Kosten eingespart werden.

Kontakt

Programmleiter David Vladar

Magistratsabteilung 65 – Rechtliche Verkehrsangelegenheiten

E-Mail: david.vladar@wien.gv.at

Website: www.wiengibtraum.at

This post is also available in: Englisch