© aspern.mobil LAB / Gerfried Mikusch

In aspern Seestadt, with the aspern.mobil LAB space for innovation is created, in which science, administration and companies together with residents contribute to the development of sustainable urban mobility.

The objective of the aspern.mobil LAB is to establish and support a new culture of mobility and innovation in this extraordinary development area. Residents, local stakeholders, politics and key scientific and economic players think, develop and act on an equal footing here.

The aspern.mobil LAB sees itself as an infrastructure for research and development and, as part of the “Mobility of the Future” program, is one of five urban mobility labs in Austria, funded by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology.

Contentual focus of the aspern.mobil LAB is put on:

  • Active Mobility: includes locomotion with your own physical strength (cycling, walking) as well as new active forms such as scooters, skateboard, cargo bikes, etc.
  • Mobility as a Service: interconnecting multiple modes of mobility (including active mobility) in order to create new services. The focus is put on shared mobility (e.g. carsharing).
  • First/Last Mile Logistics: includes transport of any goods from or to the customer or between customers, especially on the first and last mile.

Who forms the aspern.mobil LAB?

An interdisciplinary team of the Vienna University of Technology from the fields of spatial and traffic planning, computer science, sociology, architecture, design and impact research in partnership with the development company wien3420, the district management of aspern Seestadt, the studio Jauschneg and Upstream, a company of Vienna Public Utilities (Wiener Stadtwerke).

How does the aspern.mobil LAB work?

The aspern.mobil LAB understands locals of Seestadt as local experts who develop, test, evaluate and implement innovative mobility solutions, services or products through various projects and partnerships. In repetitive process loops of understanding, implementing and passing on, the development of knowledge for all parties involved is in the foreground.

The team consciously works with innovative and active formats and methods in order to promote a constant exchange with the locals of Seestadt as well as with all interested parties. For the aspern.mobil LAB, working together on a new urban mobility is the focal point.

Event formats of the aspern.mobil LAB

Upcoming events can be found at amLAB Action.

  • Thursday evening @UIC: every third Thursday evening of the month, the aspern.mobil LAB invites you to the cosy bicycle café United in Cycling in aspern Seestadt. Together with residents, topics of urban mobility are concretised and questions formulated, to which different experts are invited. With lectures, discussions, film or games an active, continuous exchange is possible in a relaxed atmosphere.
  • Lab lesson: Working together with project partners and especially with residents on questions, products or services.
  • University in aspern Seestadt: with this format, university courses are brought to aspern and thus university, studying and science is made tangible.
  • Pop-up LAB: The aspern.mobil LAB participates in events in aspern, as well as beyond. With the research mat (see title photo), the team spans an interactive space for exchange.

Why research, participate and collaborate?

Our daily routines as city dwellers, both for work and leisure, and the choice of means of transportation have a major impact on the quality of our shared living space.

The focus is on the people and how they interact with each other and the environment – a win-win situation is promoted between all parties involved. Urban dwellers test innovative technologies and develop new skills. Depending on the effort, residents receive adequate compensation.

The mobility lab tries to find answers to the following questions: Are there really no private cars in the near future? Is aspern Seestadt changing our mobility behaviour with its services, such as cargo bikes, cycling infrastructure and good public transport? Which technologies will prevail and are these ecologically and socially compatible? How can joint research and development processes positively influence our habitat?

Contact

aspern.mobil LAB

E-Mail: info@mobillab.wien

Links: Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, “Urban Mobility Labs” Initiative

|

|

|

                   

|

              

|

Funded under the “Mobility of the Future” program by:

This post is also available in: German

© aspern.mobil LAB / Gerfried Mikusch

In der Seestadt Aspern entsteht mit dem aspern.mobil LAB Raum für Innovation in dem Wissenschaft, Verwaltung und Unternehmen gemeinsam mit BewohnerInnen einen Beitrag zur Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen urbanen Mobilität leisten.

Ziel des aspern.mobil LABs ist es, in diesem außergewöhnlichen Entwicklungsgebiet, eine neue Mobilitäts- und Innovationskultur zu etablieren und zu unterstützen. SeestädterInnen, lokale Stakeholder, Politik und AkteurInnen aus Forschung, Entwicklung und Wirtschaft denken, entwickeln und handeln hier auf Augenhöhe.

Das aspern.mobil LAB versteht sich als Infrastruktur für Forschung und Entwicklung und ist im Rahmen des Programms Mobilität der Zukunft eines von fünf urbanen Mobilitätslaboren Österreichs, gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie.

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte im aspern.mobil LAB sind:

  • Aktive Mobilität: umfasst die Fortbewegung mit eigener Körperkraft (Fahrradfahren, Zufußgehen) und schließt neue aktive Formen wie Roller, Skateboard, Lastenfahrräder etc. ein.
  • Mobility as a Service: umfasst die Vernetzung mehrerer Modi (auch aktive Mobilität), wodurch neue Services entstehen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt hierbei auf Shared Mobility (z.B. carsharing).
  • First/Last Mile Logistik: umfasst Transporte von jeglichen Gütern vom bzw. zum Kunden beziehungsweise auch zwischen Kunden, vor allem auf der ersten und letzten Meile.

Wer ist das aspern.mobil LAB?

Ein interdisziplinäres Team der Technischen Universität Wien aus den Bereichen Raum- und Verkehrsplanung, Informatik, Soziologie, Architektur, Design und Wirkungsforschung in Partnerschaft mit der Entwicklungsgesellschaft wien3420, dem Stadtteilmanagement der Seestadt, Büro Jauschneg und Upstream, ein Unternehmen der Wiener Stadtwerke.

Wie arbeitet das aspern.mobil LAB?

Das aspern.mobil LAB versteht Einheimische der Seestadt als lokale ExpertInnen, welche in unterschiedlichen Projekten und Partnerschaften innovative Mobilitätslösungen, Dienstleistungen oder Produkte entwickeln, testen, evaluieren und umsetzen. In sich wiederholenden Prozessschleifen des Verstehens, Umsetzens und Weitergebens steht der Aufbau von Wissen für alle Beteiligten im Vordergrund.

Das Team arbeitet bewusst mit innovativen und aktiven Formaten und Methoden, um einen ständigen Austausch mit den Einheimischen der Seestadt, aber natürlich auch mit allen InteressentInnen zu fördern. Für das aspern.mobil LAB steht das gemeinsamen Arbeiten an einer neuen urbanen Mobilität im Vordergrund.

Veranstaltungsformate des aspern.mobil LABs

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen finden Sie unter amLAB Action.

  • Donnerstagabend @UIC: Jeden dritten Donnerstagabend im Monat lädt das aspern.mobil LAB in das gemütliche Fahrradcafé United in Cycling in der Seestadt ein. Gemeinsam mit BewohnerInnen werden Themenfelder urbaner Mobilität konkretisiert und Fragen formuliert, zu welchen unterschiedliche ExpertInnen eingeladen werden. Mit Vorträgen, Diskussionen, Film oder Spielen wird in lockerer Atmosphäre ein aktiver, kontinuierlicher Austausch ermöglicht.
  • Laborstunde: Hier wird gemeinsam mit ProjektpartnerInnen und vor allem mit SeestädterInnen an Fragenstellungen, Produkten oder Dienstleistungen gearbeitet.
  • Uni in der Seestadt: mit diesem Format werden universitäre Lehrveranstaltungen in die Seestadt gebracht und somit Uni, Studium und Wissenschaft erlebbar gemacht.
  • Pop-Up LAB: Das aspern.mobil LAB beteiligt sich an Events in der Seestadt, sowie darüber hinaus. Mit der Forschungsmatte (siehe Titelbild) spannt das Team einen interaktiven Raum für Austausch auf.

Warum forschen, teilhaben und zusammenarbeiten?

Unsere täglichen Wege als StadtbewohnerInnen, sowohl zur Arbeit als auch zu Freizeitzwecken, und die Wahl der Fortbewegungsmittel haben große Auswirkungen auf die Qualität unseres gemeinsamen Lebensraums.

Im Zentrum steht der Mensch, sein Wirken miteinander und mit seiner Umwelt – dabei wird zwischen allen Beteiligten eine Win-Win Situation gefördert. SeestädterInnen testen innovative Technologien und entwickeln dabei neue Fertigkeiten. Je nach Aufwand erhalten SeestädterInnen eine angemessene Entschädigung.

Folgende Fragen stellt sich das Mobilitätslabor: Gibt es wirklich bald keine privaten Autos mehr? Verändert die Seestadt mit ihren Angeboten, wie Lastenrädern, Radinfrastruktur und eine gute Anbindung mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel, unser Mobilitätsverhalten? Welche Technologien werden sich durchsetzen und sind diese ökologisch und sozial verträglich? Wie können gemeinsame Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprozesse unseren Lebensraum positiv beeinflussen?

Kontakt

aspern.mobil LAB

E-Mail: info@mobillab.wien

Links: Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Initiative „urbane Mobilitätslabore“

|

|

|

                   

|

          

|

Gefördert im Rahmen des Programms „Mobilität der Zukunft“ von:

This post is also available in: Englisch